One Like The Son Of Man Part 6

Revelation 1.12-20. 12 Then I turned to see the voice that was speaking to me, and on turning I saw seven golden lampstands, 13 and in the midst of the lampstands one like the son of man, clothed with a long robe and with a golden sash around his chest. 14 The hairs of his head were white, like white wool, like snow. His eyes were like a flame of fire, 15 his feet were like burnished bronze, refined in a furnace, and his voice was like the roar of many waters. 16 In his right hand he held seven stars, from his mouth came a sharp two-edged sword, and his face was like the sun shining in full strength.

17 When I saw him, I fell at his feet as though dead. But he laid his right hand on me, saying, “Fear not, I am the first and the last, 18 and the living one. I died, and behold I am alive forevermore, and I have the keys of Death and Hades. 19 Write therefore the things that you have seen, those that are and those that are to take place after this. 20 As for the mystery of the seven stars that you saw in my right hand, and the seven golden lampstands, the seven stars are the angels of the seven churches, and the seven lampstands are the seven churches. 

This is the sixth installment in a series of posts titled One Like The Son Of Man. It’s a brief study of Jesus’ appearance to John, on the island of Patmos, as recorded in Revelation 1. We’re taking a look at each symbolic description of Christ John gives us and considering it’s meaning. 

This post is dedicated to the study of the second half of verse 15. 

his voice was like the roar of many waters.

When I was a young man, I always wondered to myself how Christ was able to address such large crowds without the help of any sound equipment, such as a microphone and speakers. Then one night at Church, I heard the preacher say ” He had the voice of many waters”, and it all made sense to me. There was something very special about the way Jesus spoke.

What was it ? In Matthew, Chapters 5 – 7, you’ll find what is commonly referred to as “The Sermon On The Mount”. In it, The Lord addresses an enormous crowd, and in the end a profound observation is made by those in attendance. Matt. 7.28,29 reads “so it was, when Jesus had ended these sayings, that the people were astonished at His teaching, for He taught them as one having authority, and not as the scribes.”

The sound of many waters is the sound of authority ! When Jesus spoke, He spoke with authority, and people sat up and listened. Like the thundering command of the sound of a great waterfall, Jesus took command over everyone, and everything He addressed. Whether it be people, evil spirits, wind, rain, sickness, disease, and even death, Christ spoke with authority over it all ! 

Jesus spoke with authority because He has all authority and He is still speaking. He speaks to us every time we read the Bible. ” May the word of God dwell richly within you” – Colossians 3.16. Allow The Lord and His word to take authority over your life and the things that don’t belong in your life. Submit to His Lordship. Jesus Christ is Lord ! 

In His Service – Junior Reid 

Author: In His Service - Junior Reid

Not an expert of any kind. I'm just a Christian, who loves Jesus, and wants to worship Him in every way I can. That's the purpose of this blog. I love talking about how wonderful He is. I hope that what I write glorifies Him and blesses you. In His Service - Junior Reid

Leave a Reply

