One Like The Son Of Man Part 4

Revelation 1.12-20. 12 Then I turned to see the voice that was speaking to me, and on turning I saw seven golden lampstands, 13 and in the midst of the lampstands one like the son of man, clothed with a long robe and with a golden sash around his chest. 14 The hairs of his head were white, like white wool, like snow. His eyes were like a flame of fire, 15 his feet were like burnished bronze, refined in a furnace, and his voice was like the roar of many waters. 16 In his right hand he held seven stars, from his mouth came a sharp two-edged sword, and his face was like the sun shining in full strength.

17 When I saw him, I fell at his feet as though dead. But he laid his right hand on me, saying, “Fear not, I am the first and the last, 18 and the living one. I died, and behold I am alive forevermore, and I have the keys of Death and Hades. 19 Write therefore the things that you have seen, those that are and those that are to take place after this. 20 As for the mystery of the seven stars that you saw in my right hand, and the seven golden lampstands, the seven stars are the angels of the seven churches, and the seven lampstands are the seven churches. 

This is the fourth installment in a series of posts titled One Like The Son Of Man. It’s a brief study of Jesus’ appearance to John, on the island of Patmos, as recorded in Revelation 1. We’re taking a look at each symbolic description of Christ John gives us and considering it’s meaning. 

This post is dedicated to the study of the second half of verse 14. 

his eyes were like a flame of fire

Let me begin by saying that I’m no expert. So please take everything I write in these articles with a grain of salt. I do this to glorify God and at the same time be a blessing to my fellow believers in Christ Jesus. I hope these writings accomplish that.

I’ve been pondering this passage for quite a while, and what I believe to be it’s meaning, you might find a bit upsetting, but The Bible will do that to you sometimes. Even so, have your way oh Lord !

Spiritually and Bibically speaking, fire can have various meanings. Sometimes it represents testing or purifying. It could mean passion or zeal. It could even mean punishment. However, in this particular passage, I believe the fire that’s in His eyes represents judgment.

The Bible tells us in Proverbs 15.3 that ” The eyes of the LORD are everywhere, keeping watch on the wicked and the good. “

God see’s you. He see’s everything you do. He can even see what’s in your heart. He knows your motives and agendas. He is watching and He has fire in His eyes. He is holy. If you don’t know that, than you don’t know God.

It is a very sobering thought. The most intelligent thing we can do with this information is accept it and live accordingly. The word of the day is honesty. We need to be honest with each other, honest with ourselves, and most importantly honest with God. One thing is certain, God will not be mocked.

At this point in the study I suggest we take a moment to examine ourselves under the guidance of The Holy Spirit. Spend some time alone with God. Take time to pray and ask The Lord if there is anything in your life that needs to change. May The Lord grant all of us repentance.

In His Service – Junior Reid

Author: In His Service - Junior Reid

Not an expert of any kind. I'm just a Christian, who loves Jesus, and wants to worship Him in every way I can. That's the purpose of this blog. I love talking about how wonderful He is. I hope that what I write glorifies Him and blesses you. In His Service - Junior Reid

2 thoughts on “One Like The Son Of Man Part 4”

Leave a Reply

