One Like The Son Of Man Part 2

Revelation 1.12-20. 12 Then I turned to see the voice that was speaking to me, and on turning I saw seven golden lampstands, 13 and in the midst of the lampstands one like the son of man, clothed with a long robe and with a golden sash around his chest. 14 The hairs of his head were white, like white wool, like snow. His eyes were like a flame of fire, 15 his feet were like burnished bronze, refined in a furnace, and his voice was like the roar of many waters. 16 In his right hand he held seven stars, from his mouth came a sharp two-edged sword, and his face was like the sun shining in full strength.

17 When I saw him, I fell at his feet as though dead. But he laid his right hand on me, saying, “Fear not, I am the first and the last, 18 and the living one. I died, and behold I am alive forevermore, and I have the keys of Death and Hades. 19 Write therefore the things that you have seen, those that are and those that are to take place after this. 20 As for the mystery of the seven stars that you saw in my right hand, and the seven golden lampstands, the seven stars are the angels of the seven churches, and the seven lampstands are the seven churches. 

This post is part two in a series titled One Like The Son Of Man. It’s a study of Jesus’ appearance to John, on the island of Patmos, as recorded in Revelation 1. We’re taking a brief look at each symbolic description John gives us and considering what it might mean. 

In this post we’ll be taking a look at the apparel Jesus wore, described in the second half of verse 13. 

clothed with a long robe and with a golden sash around his chest.

The clothing, like everything else described in the passage, was different than what John had grown accustomed to seeing, when he looked upon his Lord.

During His earthly ministry, Jesus’ appearance was that of an ordinary man. Isaiah 53.2 tells us “he had no form or majesty that we should look at him, and no beauty that we should desire him.” Like everything else about Him, His appearance was humble. He was a carpenter and He dressed like one.

What we’re seeing now, in our text, is in direct contrast. We do see majesty, royalty, dignity, high ranking, and honor. This is the apparel of a high priest, or a king, and Christ is the epitome of both. He is the great High Priest, He is the King of kings,  He is Holy God, He is Jesus Christ The Lord ! 

I love how Charitie Lees Bancroft words it in her classic hymn, The Advocate. She writes ” Before the throne of God above, I have a strong and perfect plea; A great High Priest whose name is Love, who ever lives and pleads for me”. As believers, our names are “graven on His hands”. Our names are “written on His heart”. He stands before the Father making intercession for you and for me. He will never stop loving us. He is always willing to forgive us. He will always take us back and it’s justified on the basis of the sacrifice He made for us. He is the great High Priest ! 

Consider how great a sacrifice He made. He is the King of kings. I’m reminded of yet another wonderful Christian song. This one was made popular by Elvis Presley but was actually written by a fella named Rusty Goodman. It’s called Who Am I. The words go like this ” Who am I that a King should bleed and die for, who am I that He would pray not my will, Thine Lord ? The answer I may never know, why He’d ever love me so, but to an old rugged cross He’d go, for who am I ?” 

The sacrifice He made was Himself. He is the King of kings and He came to die for us. For the sins of those who would repent and put all their faith, hope, and trust in Him. He made the greatest sacrifice that could ever be made. Why ? Not because we deserve it, but simply because He loves us, and wants to reconcile us back to Himself ! 

There are those who mistook Him for just an ordinary man and unfortunately there are those who are making that same mistake today. In reality, and for all eternity, He is the great High Priest, He is the King of kings, who made the ultimate sacrifice, because He loves you, and wants you to know Him. If you haven’t already, I pray that you would believe. In Jesus name, amen. 

In His Service – Junior Reid 

Author: In His Service - Junior Reid

Not an expert of any kind. I'm just a Christian, who loves Jesus, and wants to worship Him in every way I can. That's the purpose of this blog. I love talking about how wonderful He is. I hope that what I write glorifies Him and blesses you. In His Service - Junior Reid

Leave a Reply

